Take a Break from Snapchat and Learn to Delete Your Account

delete-snapchat

Snapchat is one of the trendiest photo and video sharing platforms in the world. It is, by definition, different than Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. In fact, all of them have taken a few pages off the Snapchat’s books, providing users the chance to upload temporary multimedia content.

There is no doubt that Snapchat has a special allure. People love it because of the fact that the content uploaded as ‘stories’ or the videos and photos sent directly to users will only last 24 hours and then will be deleted. That makes users a little more creative at the time of uploading their content to the network.

If you are asking yourself what “stories” are, look no further. They are the photos or video contents that a Snapchat user shares with its follower community. After it is uploaded, a story remains public for a span of 24 hours. After that, it will be deleted.

Creativity and the community’s service

No one will beat Snapchat in creativity. It has hashtags according to the daily events and the stories are full of colours and good vibes, and it offers its users the chance to add clever filters, colours, effects, and even accessories to their stories, videos, and photos.

As you can see, Snapchat is quite the visual app. It is compatible with most devices, platforms, and operating systems, but is at its best in mobile gadgets. The network connects friends to each other and people with the world. It shows images and footage of exotic places, and it opens up new horizons.

Privacy and Snapchat

Snapchat is cool and trendy. However, as it happens with Instagram, people may get tired of being tied with the app every day to upload stories, videos, and photos to their follower community. It may be a modern form of slavery: exaggerations aside, Snapchat does tend to demand a lot of time from people, and that may get exhausting.

Add that to the privacy issues that continually publishing your location, details of your personal life, and pictures and videos of the front porch of your house, for example, may cause. Most users don’t know it, but a lot of criminal activity may be tied to the excessive information disclosure associated with visual social media apps, such as Snapchat.

Snapchat’s Privacy Policy

Make sure to stop by the Snapchat’s privacy policy and give it a read. You may or may not change your mind about deleting your account after you go through all the details. For example, you need to know exactly what data Snapchat stores from you.

The app will store information you provide to it, such as your registration information. Also, the data collected and derived from your use of the service will also be stored: what type of content you share, contacts, phone model, and more.

Additionally, the app can save information from third parties, with the intention of putting together a personalized experience for you.

VPN and Snapchat: The Right Combination

However, that kind of privacy breach may not work for everybody, as there is a sizable part of the users’ community that prefers to keep their information private. They don’t want to hear about any collaboration between Snapchat and third parties because they know the latter will provide sensible information.

If you feel the personalized ads the app shows for you are intrusive to your privacy, you may choose to implement an encryption tool, such as a VPN. If you hire a reliable VPN company, such as IPBurger VPN, your data will be secure and there will be no third party collaborations with Snapchat.

IPBurger VPN can also work to open and use Snapchat in countries it has been censored and/or banned. On top of that, you may implement IPBurger VPN in Uganda, with the intention of avoiding the social media tax.

How to Permanently Delete your Snapchat Account

If you still want to say goodbye to Snapchat, you should know that the process can take up to 30 days. If you wish to reactivate your account, just log in with your usual credentials before the month is up. Otherwise, it will be gone forever and you will not be able to reactivate it.

How to Delete your Snapchat Account:

  • Access this URL: support.snapchat.com/delete-account. You can do it from any web browser.
  • Access your account, entering your username and password.
  • Tell the system that you are not a robot and then log in.
  • Go to the Manage my Account page.
  • Scroll down and find the Delete My Account button.
  • You will have to type your username and password one last time.
  • After that, select the Delete Account button.

And then … Done!

Ali Raza

Ali Raza

Ali is a freelance journalist, having years of experience in web journalism and marketing. He contributes to various online publications. With a Master degree, now he combines his passions for writing about internet security, technology and crypto. When he is not working, he loves traveling and playing games.

Reader Comments